Bahrain Flag

Bahrain GP

Date: 21 Apr 2013

Bahrain International Circuit
Circuit NameBahrain International Circuit (Sakhir)
Type of CircuitPermanent
Circuit Length5.412 km
Race Distance308.238 km
Number of Laps57
Total Number of Turns23
Right-Hand Turns13
Left-Hand Turns10
Direction of the CircuitClockwise
Lap Record1:30.252 – M Schumacher (2004)
2012 Fastest Race Lap1:36.379-Sebastian Vettel
2012 Pole Position1:32.422 -Sebastian Vettel
2012 Race WinnerSebastian Vettel
The Bahrain Grand Prix became the first Formula 1 Grand Prix ever to take place in the Middle East in April of 2004. The Bahrain International Circuit contains five different track layouts within the complex. The one used for Formula 1 is 5.412km long and consists of 20 slow and medium paced turns; therefore it is important to find good traction on the car’s setup. As it is situated in the middle of the desert, traction is a fundamental aspect of this circuit since the sand can be blown on to parts of the track affecting the track’s grip. In 2010 the “Endurance Circuit” layout was used for the Grand Prix, extending the length of the lap to 6.299km, but the original layout will be used once again this season.