Belgian Flag

Belgian GP

Date: 25 Aug 2013

Belgian GP
Circuit NameCircuit de Spa-Francorchamps (Spa)
Type of Circuit Permanent
Inaugurated 1920
Circuit Length 7,004 km
Race Distance308,052 km
Number of Laps 44
Total Number of Turns 19
Right-Hand Turns9
Left-Hand Turns 10
Direction of the Circuit Clockwise
Lap Record1:45.108 – Kimi Raikkonen (2004)
2012 Fastest Race Lap 1:52.822 – Bruno Senna
2012 Pole Position 1:47.573 – Jenson Button
2012 Race Winner Jenson Button

Sportscar races have been taking place at Spa-Francorchamps since 1924. The original track was 14.9 kilometres long but, because of safety reasons, today’s circuit has been cut down to 7.004km. It is a very fast track with high-speed corners such as the infamous Eau Rouge. Achieving the greatest stability possible for high and medium paced turns is important when setting up the car, without forgetting mechanical traction to take on the Bus Stop chicane and La Source. Weather conditions are another important factor at Spa-Francorchamps as they are constantly changing, with rain falling on parts of the track and others being dry on occasions.