Brazilian Flag

Brazilian GP

Date: 24 Nov 2013

Brazilian GP
Circuit Name Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace (Sao Paulo)
Type of Circuit Permanent
Inaugurated 1936
Circuit Length4.309 km
Race Distance 305.909 km
Number of Laps 71
Total Number of Turns15
Right-Hand Turns5
Left-Hand Turns 10
Direction of the CircuitAnti-clockwise
Lap Record 1:11.473 – Juan Pablo Montoya (2004)
2012 Fastest Race Lap 1:18.069 – Lewis Hamilton
2012 Pole Position 1:12.458 – Lewis Hamilton
2012 Race WinnerJenson Button

The Interlagos circuit is a part of the Formula 1 World Championship since 1973 when local hero, Emerson Fittipaldi, won the inaugural Grand Prix. In 1978 the Brazilian Grand Prix moved to Rio de Janeiro, it returned to Interlagos the following year but in 1981 it definitively returned to Rio. In 1990 Formula 1 returned to the Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace and it has been a permanent fixture on the calendar ever since. It is a quick circuit and one that runs anti-clockwise. The surface is bumpy and the ups and downs of the track make it a demanding track for car and driver. Another important factor historically in Brazil is the weather that tends to be unstable, making for epic races.