Italian Flag

Italian GP

Date: 08 Sep 2013

Circuit Name Autodromo di Monza (Monza)
Type of Circuit Permanent
Inaugurated 1929
Circuit Length 5.793 km
Race Distance 306.720 km
Number of Laps 53
Total Number of Turns 11
Right-Hand Turns 7
Left-Hand Turns 4
Direction of the Circuit Clockwise
Lap Record 1:21.046 – Rubens Barrichello (2004)
2012 Fastest Race Lap 1:27.239 – Nico Rosberg
2012 Pole Position 1:24.010 – Lewis Hamilton
2012 Race Winner Lewis Hamilton

The Autodromo di Monza was built in 1922 and is one of the few current circuits to have hosted a Grand Prix in the first season of the Formula 1 World Championship in 1950. Originally the complex was made up of two tracks: a road and a high speed one which intersected one another. The two bends of the high-speed track were raised up on an embankment with a height of 2.6 metres and a maximum gradient of 21º. This track can still be visited today but is no longer in use. The current Formula 1 track is the quickest one in the championship and a circuit where top speeds are key to achieving a good result, meaning that cars seek to have a very low downforce for the race.