Monaco Flag

Monaco GP

Date: 26 May 2013

Monaco Circuit Diagram
Circuit Name Circuit de Monaco
Type of Circuit Street
Inaugurated 1929
Circuit Length 3,340 km
Race Distance 260,520 km
Number of Laps 78
Total Number of Turns 19
Right-Hand Turns 11
Left-Hand Turns 8
Direction of the Circuit Clockwise
Lap Record 1:14.439 – Michael Schumacher (2004)
2012 Fastest Race Lap 1:17.296 – Sergio Pérez
2012 Pole Position 1:14.381 – Mark Webber
2012 Race Winner Mark Webber

The most symbolic circuit on the calendar and a Grand Prix that takes place since 1950, when Juan Manuel Fangio won the first edition. The Monaco Grand Prix is celebrated on the streets of the principality, just a few inches off the guardrails meaning that any mistake, as small as it may be, is very costly. It’s a high downforce track and a very demanding one on the brakes. Overtaking is very complicated at Monaco, so qualifying plays a vital role in the outcome of the race. The Monaco Grand Prix forms a part of the “Triple Crown” alongside the Indianapolis 500-Mile Race and the 24 Hours of Le Mans. These are considered to be the three most prestigious races in the world and only one driver to date has the honour of having won the Triple Crown, Graham Hill.