Spanish Flag

Spanish GP

Date: 12 May 2013

Circuit de Catalunya Diagram
Circuit Name Circuit de Catalunya (Barcelona)
Type of Circuit Permanent
Inaugurated 1991
Circuit Length 4.655 km
Race Distance 307.104 km
Number of Laps 66
Total Number of Turns16
Right-Hand Turns9
Left-Hand Turns7
Direction of the Circuit Clockwise
Lap Record 1:21.670 – K Raikkonen (2008)
2012 Fastest Race Lap 1:26.250 – Romain Grosjean
2012 Pole Position 1:22.285 – Pastor Maldonado
2012 Race Winner Pastor Maldonado

One of the circuits most known to teams and drivers because, besides hosting the Spanish Grand Prix since 1991, it is the setting for a large amount of preseason testing. The Spanish Grand Prix has taken place since 1913, when touring cars competed on a 300 kilometre circuit near Madrid. In 1951 it became a part of the Formula 1 World Championship and, back then, the race took place at the Circuito de Pedralbes. In 1991 it moved to the Circuit de Catalunya, a circuit which is made up of a mix of slow and fast corners, which added to the bumpy surface, make the race mechanically and physically demanding. Tyres get worn out a lot, especially those on the left side of the car since all high speed corners are right hand turns.