UAE Flag

Abu Dhabi GP

Date: 03 Nov 2013

Abu Dhabi GP
Circuit Name Yas Marina Circuit (Abu Dhabi)
Type of Circuit Permanent
Inaugurated 2009
Circuit Length 5.554 km
Race Distance305.355 km
Number of Laps 55
Total Number of Turns21
Right-Hand Turns9
Left-Hand Turns 12
Direction of the CircuitAnti-clockwise
Lap Record 1:40.279 – Sebastian Vettel (2009)
2012 Fastest Race Lap1:43.964 – Sebastian Vettel
2012 Pole Position1:40.630 – Lewis Hamilton
2012 Race Winner Kimi Raikkonen

Abu Dhabi hosted its first ever Grand Prix in 2009 when it acted as the season finale. The circuit is located on the spectacular Yas Island, with the track passing by the seafront, as is the case in Monaco and Valencia. The harbour and the impressive five star Yas Marina Hotel are situated in the circuit itself. This circuit is part of small group to run anti-clockwise in the championship and, like many of Hermann Tilke’s designs, combines high speed straights with tight corners. The Abu Dhabi Grand Prix is the only day-night race with proceedings getting underway as the sun sets and finishing at night time.