United Kingdom Flag

British GP

Date: 30 Jun 2013

British GP
Circuit NameSilverstone Circuit (Silverstone)
Type of Circuit Permanent
Circuit Length5.891 km
Race Distance306.198 km
Number of Laps 52
Total Number of Turns 18
Right-Hand Turns 10
Left-Hand Turns 8
Direction of the Circuit Clockwise
Lap Record1:30.874 – Fernando Alonso (2010)
2012 Fastest Race Lap1:34.661 – Kimi Raikkonen
2012 Pole Position1:51.746 – Fernando Alonso
2012 Race WinnerMark Webber

The first Formula 1 race in history took place at Silverstone in 1950, so the British circuit is living history of the pinnacle of motorsport. Silverstone has hosted every British Grand Prix since 1950 barring periods between 1964 and 1986 when it took place at Brands Hatch and 1955 to 1962 when it was raced at Aintree. Back in the day, Silverstone was an aerodrome for the Royal Air Force during World War II and later one of the fastest tracks on the calendar. In 1991 it was modified and today it is a quick circuit made up of 18 turns, with Maggots, Becketts and Chapel standing out as one of the most demanding combination of corners in the championship.