Lewis Hamilton takes the pole of the Australian Grand Prix while home favourite Daniel Ricciardo is second for Red Bull Racing.

Lewis_Hamilton-Australian_GP-2014-S01Qualifying has been revised very slightly for 2014, with Q1 shortened by two minutes to 18 minutes, and Q3 extended by two minutes to 12 minutes.

To encourage Q3 running, all drivers in Q3 will get an extra set of option tyres for that session. They will start the race on the tyres they used to set their best Q2 time.

Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton denied home favourite Daniel Ricciardo a maiden pole position in a thrilling rain-affected qualifying session in Melbourne on Saturday afternoon. The Red Bull driver looked to have done enough to grab the top spot with his final effort, but Hamilton wasn’t to be denied, taking his Mercedes around 0.317s quicker than the Australian. The other Mercedes of Nico Rosberg was third fastest.

01.United Kingdom Lewis HamiltonMercedes AMG Petronas1:44.23122
02.Australia Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing1:44.54820
03.Deutschland Nico RosbergMercedes AMG Petronas1:45.59521
04.Denmark Kevin MagnussenMcLaren Mercedes1:45.74519
05.Spain Fernando AlonsoScuderia Ferrari1:45.81921
06.France Jean Eric VergneScuderia Toro Rosso1:45.86421
07.Deutschland Nico HulkenbergSahara Force India1:46.03020
08.Russia Daniil KvyatScuderia Toro Rosso1:47.36820
09.Brazil Felipe MassaWilliams Martini Racing1:48.07921
10.Finland Valtteri Bottas*Williams Martini Racing1:48.14719
11.United Kingdom Jenson ButtonMcLaren Mercedes1:44.43713
12.Finland Kimi RaikkonenScuderia Ferrari1:44.49413
13.Deutschland Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing1:44.66813
14.Deutschland Adrian SutilSauber F1 Team1:45.65512
15.Japan Kamui KobayashiCaterham F1 Team1:45.26813
16.Mexico Sergio PerezSahara Force India1:47.29313
17.United Kingdom Max ChiltonMarussia F1 Team1:34:2935
18.France Jules BianchiMarussia F1 Team1:34:7945
19.Mexico Esteban GutierrezSauber F1 Team1:35:1177
20.Sweden Marcus EricssonCaterham F1 Team1:35:1575
21.France Romain GrosjeanLotus F1 Team1:36:9936
22.Venezuela Pastor MaldonadoLotus F1 Teamno time3
 Q1 107% Time:1:37.129 
* Valtteri Bottas – Will start the race from 15th position because of his penalty.