After yet another three weeks summer break, the teams have reconvened in the Ardennes forest for one of the most historic races of them all.

Fernando_Alonso-Hungarian_GPSpa, along with Silverstone, Monaco and Monza, was one of the tracks visited in the inaugural world championship season of 1950.

As for the 7.004-kilometre (4.352 mile) track, it’s unchanged since last year, apart from improvements to some kerbs and the addition of some shallow drainage grooves on the start/finish straight.

However, there is an additional DRS zone for this year’s race. The first remains on the Kemmel Straight, with detection midway down the hill into Eau Rouge, while the second is on the start-finish straight with detection just prior to the final chicane.

Pirelli have brought their orange-marked hard and white-marked medium compound tyres to Belgium – the two hardest compounds in their range. These should be ideal for dealing with the high-energy demands of the circuit and its very high-speed compressions such as the legendary Eau Rouge down and uphill swoop.

Full Belgian GP practice one results below:

01.Spain Fernando AlonsoScuderia Ferrari1:55.19811
02.United Kingdom Paul di RestaSahara Force India1:55.22410
03.Deutschland Adrian SutilSahara Force India1:55.37311
04.Mexico Sergio PerezVodafone McLaren Mercedes1:55.51814
05.Deutschland Nico Rosberg Mercedes AMG Petronas1:55.61410
06.Deutschland Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing1:55.63614
07.Mexico Esteban GutiƩrrezSauber F11:55.95418
08.Deutschland Nico HulkenbergSauber F11:56.11011
09.Australia Daniel RicciardoScuderia Toro Rosso1:56.77014
10.Finland Valtteri BottasWilliams F11:56.85818
11.Brazil Felipe MassaScuderia Ferrari1:56.86310
12.Venezuela Pastor MaldonadoWilliams F11:57.08114
13.France Jean-Eric VergneScuderia Toro Rosso1:57.08417
14.United Kingdom Jenson ButtonVodafone McLaren Mercedes1:57.28114
15.United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton Mercedes AMG Petronas1:57.35810
16.Finland Heikki KovalainenCaterham F1 Team1:57.82116
17.Holland Giedo van der GardeCaterham F1 Team1:57.88716
18.United Kingdom Max ChiltonMarussia F11:58.60014
19.Australia Mark WebberRed Bull Racing1:58.92912
20.France Jules BianchiMarussia F11:59.20912
21.Finland Kimi RaikkonenLotus F11:59.44111
22.France Romain GrosjeanLotus F12:03.17615