Lewis Hamilton takes the pole for the Chinese Grand Prix.

With this result Lewis Hamilton becomes the best British qualifier in formula 1, surpassing Jim Clark’s record of pole positions.

Lewis_Hamilton-Chinese_GP-2014-S01Hamilton went quickest in the first and third sectors as he posted a 1:53.860, over a second faster than Rosberg and ultimately far quicker than anything anyone would manage. Behind him Ricciardo was unable to get within half a second of Hamilton but, notably, out-qualified Vettel with a blistering final lap. Rosberg may well have locked out the front row with Hamilton but he ran wide at Turn 14 on his penultimate run, before spinning out of the final corner at the end of his last flying lap.

Fernando Alonso took fifth, keeping him well placed to build on his impressive practice form in the race, but team-mate Kimi Raikkonen was the highest profile casualty of Q2 as he could only manage to come home in 11th, with Jenson Button also failing to make it into the final qualifying session. Felipe Massa and Valtteri Bottas ended a trend of Williams struggling in the wet this season by qualifying sixth and seventh respectively, while Nico Hulkenberg could only manage eighth. Team-mate Sergio Perez, who claimed a podium in Bahrain, was another who failed to emerge from Q2.

01.44 – United Kingdom Lewis HamiltonMercedes AMG Petronas1:53.86021
02.03Australia Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing1:54.45523
03.01Deutschland Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing1:54.96023
04.06 – Deutschland Nico RosbergMercedes AMG Petronas1:55.14322
05.14 Spain Fernando AlonsoScuderia Ferrari1:55.63721
06.19 – Brazil Felipe MassaWilliams Martini Racing1:56.14724
07.77 – Finland Valtteri BottasWilliams Martini Racing1:56.28224
08.27 – Deutschland Nico HulkenbergSahara Force India1:56.36623
09.25 – France Jean-Eric VergneScuderia Toro Rosso1:56.77323
10.08 – France Romain GrosjeanLotus F1 Team1:57.07922
11.07Finland Kimi RaikkonenScuderia Ferrari1:56.86017
12.22 – United Kingdom Jenson ButtonMcLaren Mercedes1:56.96317
13.26 – Russia Daniil KvyatScuderia Toro Rosso1:57.28918
14.99 – Deutschland Adrian SutilSauber F1 Team1:57.39317
15.20 – Denmark Kevin MagnussenMcLaren Mercedes1:57.67517
16.11 – Mexico Sergio PerezSahara Force India1:58.26417
17.21 – Mexico Esteban GutierrezSauber F1 Team1:58.98810
18.10 – Japan Kamui KobayashiCaterham F1 Team1:59.26010
19.17 – France Jules BianchiMarussia F1 Team1:59.32610
20.09 – Sweden Marcus EricssonCaterham F1 Team2:00.64610
21.04 – United Kingdom Max ChiltonMarussia F1 Team2:00.86510
22.13 – Venezuela Pastor MaldonadoLotus F1 Teamno time0