Lewis Hamilton recorded a hat-trick of victories and Mercedes one-two finishes at a canter as he led from start to finish at the Chinese Grand Prix, ahead of team-mate Nico Rosberg and Fernando Alonso.

Lewis_Hamilton-Chinese_GP-2014-S02Rosberg fought back from a poor start to finish second, while Fernando Alonso earned Ferrari’s first podium of the season in third, having resisted increasing pressure from Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo in the race’s closing stages.

Hamilton effectively had the race won after beating everyone else off the line, with his lead a massive 13 laps at mid-distance as Mercedes executed a flawless two-stop strategy. He only came off track once, sliding off a Turn 14 as his tyres went off before his first pit stop. Rosberg recovered from a poor start to complete a one-two finish, while Alonso held off a spirited charge from Daniel Ricciardo in the closing laps to record a memorable podium for Ferrari following the resignation of Stefano Domenicali on Monday.

Sebastian Vettel had to settle for fifth behind his team-mate for the second weekend in a row, and appeared to initially refuse a team-order when told to let Ricciardo through during his second stint.

01.44United Kingdom Lewis HamiltonMercedes AMG PetronasWinner
02.06Deutschland Nico RosbergMercedes AMG Petronas+18.6 secs
03.14 Spain Fernando AlonsoScuderia Ferrari+25.7 secs
04.03Australia Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing+26.9 secs
05.01Deutschland Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing+51.0 secs
06.27 – Deutschland Nico HulkenbergSahara Force India+57.5 secs
07.77 – Finland Valtteri BottasWilliams Martini Racing+58.1 secs
08.07Finland Kimi RaikkonenScuderia Ferrari+83.9 secs
09.11 – Mexico Sergio PerezSahara Force India+86.4 secs
10.26 – Russia Daniil KvyatScuderia Toro Rosso+1 Lap
11.22 – United Kingdom Jenson ButtonMcLaren Mercedes+1 Lap
12.25 – France Jean-Eric VergneScuderia Toro Rosso+1 Lap
13.20 – Denmark Kevin MagnussenMcLaren Mercedes+1 Lap
14.13 – Venezuela Pastor MaldonadoLotus F1 Team+1 Lap
15.19 – Brazil Felipe MassaWilliams Martini Racing+1 Lap
16.21 – Mexico Esteban GutierrezSauber F1 Team+1 Lap
17.10 – Japan Kamui KobayashiCaterham F1 Team+1 Lap
18.17 – France Jules BianchiMarussia F1 Team+1 Lap
19.04 – United Kingdom Max ChiltonMarussia F1 Team+2 Laps
20.09 – Sweden Marcus EricssonCaterham F1 Team+2 Laps
21.08 – France Romain GrosjeanLotus F1 TeamRETIRED
22.99 – Deutschland Adrian SutilSauber F1 TeamRETIRED