The timesheets had a familiar look to them after first practice in India on Friday as Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel – the only man to have ever won at the New Delhi circuit – set the quickest time.

The German, who can wrap up his fourth title this weekend, set a best time of 1m 26.683s to edge team mate Mark Webber, Mercedes’ Nico Rosberg and Lotus’s Romain Grosjean while Fernando Alonso had to retire early from the session with gearbox problems.

01.Deutschland Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing1:26.68324
02.Australia Mark WebberRed Bull Racing1:26.87117
03.Deutschland Nico Rosberg Mercedes AMG Petronas1:26.89923
04.France Romain GrosjeanLotus F11:26.99020
05.United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton Mercedes AMG Petronas1:27.22721
06.United Kingdom Jenson ButtonVodafone McLaren Mercedes1:27.33523
07.Mexico Sergio PerezVodafone McLaren Mercedes1:27.41623
08.Brazil Felipe MassaScuderia Ferrari1:27.69221
09.Deutschland Nico HulkenbergSauber F11:27.77019
10.Finland Valtteri BottasWilliams F11:27.80023
11.France Jean-Eric VergneScuderia Toro Rosso1:28.03525
12.Spain Fernando AlonsoScuderia Ferrari1:28.2146
13.Australia Daniel RicciardoScuderia Toro Rosso1:28.33618
14.Venezuela Pastor MaldonadoWilliams F11:28.34221
15.Deutschland Adrian SutilSahara Force India1:28.46820
16.Mexico Esteban GutiƩrrezSauber F11:28.53818
17.Finland Kimi RaikkonenLotus F11:28.73018
18.United Kingdom James CaladoSahara Force India1:29.19722
19.Holland Giedo van der GardeCaterham F1 Team1:29.41324
20.France Jules BianchiMarussia F11:29.56020
21.France Charles PicCaterham F1 Team1:30.02623
22.United Kingdom Max ChiltonMarussia F11:30.47117