Sebastian Vettel grabbed a third consecutive pole position in India with the fastest ever lap around the Buddh International Circuit this Saturday afternoon.

The Red Bull driver, who can clinch a fourth world title by finishing fifth or higher in Sunday’s race, clocked a lap of 1m 24.119s on the soft tyre – seven-tenths quicker than Mercedes’ Nico Rosberg, who qualified in second ahead of team mate Lewis Hamilton.

Mark Webber set the fourth best time on the medium compound tyres just ahead of Felipe Massa. Fernando Alonso who was following Webber strategy only managed eight best time just ahead of the two McLarens.

01.Deutschland Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing1:24.11912
02.Deutschland Nico Rosberg Mercedes AMG Petronas1:24.87121
03.United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton Mercedes AMG Petronas1:24.94120
04.Australia Mark WebberRed Bull Racing1:25.04717
05.Brazil Felipe Massa Scuderia Ferrari1:25.20119
06.Finland Kimi RaikkonenLotus F11:25.24818
07.Deutschland Nico HulkenbergSauber F11:25.33419
08.Spain Fernando Alonso Scuderia Ferrari1:25.82615
09.Mexico Sergio PerezVodafone McLaren Mercedes1:26.15321
10.United Kingdom Jenson ButtonVodafone McLaren Mercedes1:26.48723
11.Australia Daniel RicciardoScuderia Toro Rosso1:31.98914
12.United Kingdom Paul di RestaSahara Force India1:31.99215
13.Deutschland Adrian SutilSahara Force India1:32.01314
14.France Jean-Eric VergneScuderia Toro Rosso1:32.06316
15.Finland Valtteri BottasWilliams F11:32.09315
16.Mexico Esteban GutiérrezSauber F11:32.4859
17.France Romain GrosjeanLotus F11:32.8907
18.Venezuela Pastor MaldonadoWilliams F11:33.3579
19. France Jules BianchiMarussia F11:34.3208
20.Holland Giedo van der GardeCaterham F1 Team1:34.5566
21.France Charles PicCaterham F1 Team1:34.8797
22. United Kingdom Max ChiltonMarussia F11:34.9588
 Q1 107% Time:1:31.564